List of Awards & their fields in India

Join Group for Latest Job Alert
WhatsApp Group Join Now
Telegram Group Join Now


1. Bharat Ratna –

It is the highest civilian award of the India. The award was given for outstanding achievements
in the arts, literature, science and public services but the government expanded the criteria to
include “any field of human endeavour”. The number of annual awards is restricted to a
maximum of three in a particular year.

2. Nobel Prize –

The Nobel Prize is widely regarded as the most prestigious award available in the fields of
literature, medicine, physics, chemistry, peace, and economics.

3. Saraswati Samman – Literature

Note : The award was instituted in 1991 by the K. K. Birla Foundation. It is an annual award
given for outstanding prose or poetry literary works in any 22 Indian languages.

4. Jnanpith award – Literature

Note : The award was instituted in 1961 and it is It is presented by the Bharatiya Jnanpith, a
trust founded by the Sahu Jain family, the publishers of the newspaper The Times of India. It is
an annual award given for outstanding prose or poetry literary works in any 22 Indian

5. Vyas Samman – Literature

Note : Vyas Samman is awarded annually by the K.K. Birla Foundation in recognition of the
Hindi literary work published in past 10 years.

6. Bihari Puraskar – Literature

Note : Bihari Puraskar is a literary award instituted by K. K. Birla Foundation. The award is
named after the famous Hindi poet Bihari and is awarded to an outstanding work published in
Hindi or Rajasthani by a Rajasthani writer.

7. Moorti Devi Award – Literature

Note : The Moortidevi Award is an annual literary award in India presented by the Bharatiya
Jnanpith organization for a work which emphasizes Indian philosophy and culture.

8. Booker Prize – Literature

Note : It is an annual award for the best original novel, written in the English language, and
published in the UK literary award

9. Dadasaheb Phalke Award – Cinema/Films

Note : The Dadasaheb Phalke Award is India’s highest award in cinema. It is presented
annually at the National Film Awards ceremony by the Directorate of Film Festivals, an
organisation set up by the Ministry of Information and Broadcasting.

10. Arjuna Award –

Outstanding performance from the sportspersons in sports and games.
Note : The Government has modified the format of Arjuna Award very recently and as per the
revised schematic guidelines a sportsperson must have very good consistent performances for
the previous 3 years at the international level to be considered as eligible for the Award.

11. Dronacharya Award –

Eminent coaches of any particular sport
Note : The award is named after the very famous archery coach, mentioned in the epic of India
known as the Mahabharata. This very award is not related with the sportspersons who are still
playing in the field; instead this is related to those eminent coaches of any particular sport.

12. Dhyan Chand Award –

The award that is given to the veteran sportspersons of India for their lifetime achievement in
their respective field of sport is named as the Dhyan Chand Award for Life Time Achievement
in Sports and Games.

13. Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna Award –

The Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna is the highest honour bestowed to a sportsperson for his/her
achievements in India.

14. Shanti Swarup Bhatnagar Prize – For Science & Technology

Note : The Shanti Swarup Bhatnagar Prize for Science and Technology (SSB) is a science award
in India given annually by the Council of Scientific and Industrial Research (CSIR) for notable
and outstanding research, applied or fundamental, in biology, chemistry, environmental
science, engineering, mathematics, medicine and Physics.

15. Kalinga Prize – Science

Note : The Kalinga Prize for the Popularization of Science is an award given by UNESCO for
exceptional skill in presenting scientific ideas to lay people.

16. Pulitzer Prize – Journalism

Note : The Pulitzer Prize is an award for achievements in newspaper and online journalism,
literature, and musical composition in the United States.

17. Abel Prize – Mathematics

Note : The Abel Prize is an international prize awarded annually by the Government of Norway
to one or more outstanding mathematicians.

18. Grammy Award – Music

Note : A Grammy Award, or Grammy, is an accolade by the National Academy of Recording
Arts and Sciences of the United States to recognize outstanding achievement in the music

19. Stirling Prize – Architecture

Note : The Royal Institute of British Architects Stirling Prize is a British prize for excellence in

20. Aga Khan Award – Architecture

Note : The Aga Khan Award for Architecture (AKAA) is an architectural prize established by
Aga Khan IV in 1977. It aims to identify and reward architectural concepts that successfully
address the needs and aspirations of Islamic societies in the fields of contemporary design,
social housing, community development and improvement.

21. Pritzker Prize – Architecture

Note : The Pritzker Architecture Prize is awarded annually “to honor a living architect.
See also  Central Bank of India SO Recruitment 2021
Share on:
Join Group for Latest Job Alert
WhatsApp Group Join Now
Telegram Group Join Now

Leave a Comment